Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Body

Rainham Mark Grammar School is a partnership of parents, staff, pupils and governors.  It is part of the Rainham Mark Education Trust (RMET).  The Local Governing Body (LGB)  has three core functions:

  1. ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. working with the school leadership to maximise educational achievement for pupils and the performance management of staff; and
  3. overseeing the financial performance and ensuring money is well spent

The Governing Body’s responsibilities are delegated by the Trust, via the Terms of Reference, which can be seen here.   Much responsibility is further delegated to the two sub-committees:  School Improvement and Business Management.

Parent Governors are an important part of the Governing Body and elections are held when vacancies arise.  If you are interested in becoming a Governor, please email the Clerk,  Casey Collyer 

You  can contact the governing body through the school or by email via the Clerk.

Co-opted Governors

Mr Hari Aggarwal  
Mr Neal Carter  
Mrs Alison Clark  
Mr Nigel Goodall Joint Vice Chair

Mrs Elaine Jackson*

Joint Vice Chair

Mrs Janet Johnson  
Mr Barry Kemp  

Mrs Marilyn Kirk


Rev Stephen Roe


Parent Governors


Mr Jonathan O'Donnell


Dr Mike McGibbon


Mr Richard Meacham


Mr Terry Whittaker


Staff Governors


Ms Jane Henry


Mrs Carol Wallis


Ex Officio Governor


Mr Simon Decker


Secretary to the Trust


Mrs Michele Brighton



  • Science Specialist School
  • The Prince's Teaching Institute 3 Subjects
  • The Prince's Teaching Institute Leadership 2016
  • Leading Edge
  • Educational Outcomes Awards
  • Ofsted Outstanding